The American Cleaning Institute (ACI)



The American Cleaning Institute honors individuals and groups through a variety of award programs for their efforts in promoting the goals of the cleaning product and oleochemical industries.

ACI Elva Walker Spillane Distinguished Service Award

The ACI Elva Walker Spillane Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to ACI and the cleaning products or oleochemical industries. Award recipients are honored at ACI's Annual Meeting & Industry Convention.

Elva SpillanePrevious Award Recipients

  • 2019 - Bill Phillips
  • 2018 - Tim O'Brien
  • 2017 - Dale Steichen
  • 2016 - Suzanne Thompson
  • 2015 - Martin Wolf
  • 2014 - Bob Hamilton
  • 2013 – Larry Peiros
  • 2012 – Jane Hutterly
  • 2011 – Frank Sherman
  • 2010 – F. Quinn Stepan
  • 2009 – Dr. Jack Linard
  • 2008 – Dr. Stewart Gloyer
  • 2007 – Judith H. Smeltzer
  • 2006 – Theodore E. "Ted" Brenner
  • 2005 – Dr. David Scharer
  • 2004 – June A. Stahl
  • 2003 – Gregory T. Grochoski
  • 2002 – Elva D. Walker Spillane

Clean and Healthy Families & Communities Award

Formerly known as the "Clean Homes...Safe and Healthy Families" Program Award of Excellence, this award is for members of the National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (NEAFCS) honoring outstanding educational programming efforts that utilize any of ACI’s educational materials and promote the connection between cleanliness and health.

The annual award honors outstanding educational programming efforts that utilize any of ACI’s educational materials and promote the connection between cleanliness and health. Programs must demonstrate innovative outreach efforts that impact the local community and raise the awareness of the proper use and/or storage of cleaning products. Program areas include but are not limited to food safety, emergency preparedness or response and any programming that raises awareness of safe and effective use of cleaning products in the home or community.


Two (2) Family and Consumer Sciences county professionals or teams will be honored with a $500 scholarship to attend NEAFCS Annual Session and a tabletop award. The award winning programs will be highlighted on the ACI website and Clean and Happy Nest blog. Click here for more information about this award and how to apply.

Award Recipients:
  • 2016 - Georgia's Southwest District FACS Agents
  • 2015 - Michigan State University Extension and Purdue University Extension
  • 2014 - Ohio State University Extension
  • 2013 - University of Kentucky Cooperative Extension Service
  • 2012 - University of Tennessee Cooperative Extension Service
  • 2011 - Linda Beech (Kansas) and Darlene Christensen (Utah)
  • 2010 - Robin Eubank (Kansas) and Joan Vinette (Michigan)
  • 2009 - Snapshot of Food Safety & Healthy Choices Week
  • 2008 - How, When and Why of Handwashing and Kitchen Clean Up
  • 2007 - Helping Baby Boomers Reduce Clutter and Youth Wage War on Body Odor
  • 2005 - Reducing Lead Poisoning and Imaginary Hygiene Report Card Projects
  • 2004 - Maryland, Kentucky Cooperative Extension Service Agents Receive Award
  • 2003 - Inaugural Award

Healthy Schools, Healthy People National Award

An annual awards program that recognizes middle schools for handwashing initiatives that improve health and reduce absenteeism. National award recipients receive an all-expense paid trip for three students to Washington, DC. Two runner-up schools each receive a cash award. The awards program is a joint project of the American Cleaning Institute and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Distinguished Paper Award

Presented annually to the authors of the best technical paper appearing during the preceding year in the Journal of Surfactants and Detergents (JSD), a publication of the American Oil Chemists' Society (AOCS).

This award is presented annually to the authors of the best technical paper appearing during the preceding year in Journal of Surfactants and Detergents (JSD). Prior to 1998, papers published in the surfactants and detergents section of the Journal of the American Oil Chemists’ Society (JAOCS).

Winners Include:

Takako Igarashi, Koichi Nakamura, Masato Hoshi, Teruyuki Hara, Hironori Kojima, Masatsugu Itou, Reiko Ikeda, and Yoshimasa Okamoto
Akin Ali
Zayeed Alam
Glenn Ward
D. Ian Wilson
Jean-Louis Salager
Lisbeth Manchego
Laura Márquez
Johnny Bullón
Ana Forgiarini
Julia Boos
Wiebke Drenckhan
Cosima Stubenrauch
Dr. Charles Hammond
Dr. Edgar Acosta
Dr. Mahdavian
Dr. Ali Reza Tehrani-Bagha
Dr. Krister Holmberg
T. Banno
K. Kawada
S. Matsumura
S. Kay Obendorf
Haiqing Liu
Kuitian Tan
Timothy Young
Michael Incorvia
Michael Leonard
Edgar Acosta
Art Bhakta
Jessica Yuan
Andreas W. Sonesson
Thomas H. Callisen
Ulla M. Elofsson
Hjalmar Brismar
Bungon Luepakdeesakoon
Chintana Saiwan
John Scamehorn
Milton Rosen
Huiyu Liu
Cecilia Groth
Magnus Nyden
Kirster Holmberg
James Kanicky
Dinesh Shah
Edgar Acosta
Phuong Do Mai
Jeffrey Harwell
David Sabatini
John Scamehorn
Cheryl H. Rodr

ACI/NBB Glycerine Innovation Award

Sponsored by the American Cleaning Institute and the National Biodiesel Board (NBB), this award recognizes outstanding achievement for research into new applications for glycerine with particular emphasis on commercial viability. The award consists of a $5,000 honorarium and a plaque commemorating the presentation. The honor is annually presented during the American Oil Chemists' Society (AOCS) Industrial Oil Products Division meeting.

No geographical limits are placed on the award and the awardee need not be a member of the Division, the Society, ACI, nor the NBB. Self-nominations are permitted. The award is presented at the AOCS Annual Meeting, where the recipient may deliver an acceptance address. Particular emphasis is given to the existing or potential commercial importance of the work.

Nominations should consist of a nomination letter (limited to 2 pages) describing original research work in new applications and uses for glycerine. In addition, at least two letters of support, and a copy of the published journal article relating to the research, may accompany the nomination. The nomination deadline is November 1.

Annual Winners Include:

  • 2017 - Greener Chemistry Through Glycerine
  • 2015 - Research Creating High Value Products from Glycerine Glut
  • 2014 - Research to Overcome Bottlenecks to New Uses of Glycerine Receives Innovation Award
  • 2013 - Turning Green: Glycerine Use in Manufacturing Can Lead to Cleaner Industrial Processes, Less Pollution
  • 2012 - Scientists Honored for Greener Solvents Research
  • 2011 - Identifying New Uses for Glycerine-Production of a Renewable Amino Alcohol
  • 2010 - E. coli Has Its Benefits – Rice University Scientist Honored for Research Converting Glycerine Into High Value Products
  • 2009 - Trio from Pittsburg State University in Kansas Honored for Sustainable Use of Glycerine in Foams
  • 2008 - Research Leads to Creation of Eco-friendly Biosurfactants and Polymers 
  • 2007 - Solvay Technology Honored With 2007 SDA/NBB Glycerine Innovation Award 
  • 2006 - Improved Process for Converting Glycerine from Biodiesel Production to Propylene Glycol
  • 2005 - A synthetic chemist at Kansas' Pittsburg State University 
  • 2004 - Glycerine Derivative Used as Effective Anti-Freeze Agent